Database of Instruments for Validating Informal and Non-Formal Learning|

Recognition, Validation and Certification of Competences System (RVCCS)

//Recognition, Validation and Certification of Competences System (RVCCS)
Add new Translation Tool

Recognition, Validation and Certification of Competences System (RVCCS)

Recognition, Validation and Certification of Competences System (RVCCS)

The System of Recognition, Validation and Certification of Competencies, recognizes and validates knowledge and skills acquired throughout life, giving the adult a certification of basic or secondary level. It is aimed at adults who have not completed their compulsory schooling, allowing them to validate and certify their professional and other school knowledge acquired throughout their life and in different contexts (personal, social and professional).
The RVCCS enables persons aged 15 years and over to receive accreditation for skills and competencies that they have acquired in different learning contexts, including their personal, professional and social life. There are two types of RVCC processes: Educational RVCC (RVCC Escolar) and Occupational RVCC (RVCC Profissional). RVCC Escolar can also be initiated by persons aged 15 and over who did not finish basic education.
RVCC Profissional can be initiated by adults (18 and over) who acquired knowledge and skills through their work experience by presenting an application to the Centre for Educational and Professional Qualifications (Centros para a Qualifica‹o e Ensino Profissional – CQEP).
The recognition of adult skills aims to identify and recognise all the skills listed in the key competencies frameworks, according to the level in which the person is to be certified.
In the RVCC process it is intended that the adults prove evidence of the skills acquired throughout their life process. These processes may or may not include complementary training. If the adult needs extra skills to obtain validation in the areas of key references, he/she can access additional training of up to a maximum of 50 hours in order to complete the RVCC process. The Centre for Educational and Professional Qualification (CQEP) proceeds to his/her referral to an external modality of education / training.
The RVCC process includes three stages: recognition (of knowledge, know-how and skills of each applicant), validation (of skills through a standard assessment) and certification of skills (formalised by issuing a certificate of basic education at level 1, 2 or 3 or a secondary education diploma, depending on the case).
The RVCC processes are based on the two distinct key competencies frameworks specifically conceived for and used in adult education and training: one for basic education and another for secondary education.
The framework for basic education has three different levels (B1, B2 and B3) and four areas of key competencies:
Language and Communication,
Information and Communications Technology,
Mathematics for Life, and
Citizenship and Employability.
The secondary education framework is organised into three areas:
Citizenship and Professionalism,
Society, Technology and Science, as well as
Culture, Language and Communication.
If the validation is not achieved in all areas, there may be a partial validation and subsequent routing to further training.

Please rate this tool



Type of Tool:

Tests and examinations, Declarative methods

Phases of Validations:

Identification, Documentation, Assessment

Areas of Interests:

Certification, Recognition, Validation

VINA Target Group:

Validation institutions - Public

Definition of Tools:

C - Official Validation

Tool Available in:


Link Tool:

> First Link